Pictures at an Exhibition

0001 (2).jpg
0001 (2).jpg

Pictures at an Exhibition


Composer: Modest Mussorgsky
Arranger: Melissa Malork
Running Time: 19'30"
Instrumentation oboe, clarinet in Bb & A (optional Eb), alto saxophone, bass clarinet, bassoon
Movements: Promenade, Old Castle, Tuileries, Bydlo, Promenade, Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks, Con mortuis in lingua mortua, The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga), The Great Gate of Kiev

Add To Cart

After the death of his close friend, artist Viktor Hartmann, Mussorgsky attended an exhibition of his artwork, which inspired this iconic piece. This arrangement includes nine movements out of the 14/15, and draws inspiration from both the original piano work and Ravel’s famous orchestration. This arrangement stretches range and endurance from every player.

For pricing and availability  of individual movements please email Melissa Malork at